From 1 September 2015, to be certified as an FSS for a food premise in NSW and issued a valid certificate a person must attain required units of competency from an approved RTO under the FSS program.

Each appointed FSS needs to be trained in certain nationally recognised units of competency plus key focus areas as determined by the Food Authority and hold an FSS certificate. 

The legislation requires FSS training every 5 years.

The course is made up of the following hospitality units: 

· SITXFSA001 – Use hygienic practices for food safety

· SITXFSA002 – Participate in safe food handling practices


· Allergen management

· Cleaning and sanitising

· Safe egg handling


Our fully approved course provides full training in the required units of competency and the additional key focus areas required by the NSW Food Authority.

All knowledge is provided in an engaging and interactive online tutorial.  You will then be assessed on this knowledge as you go with a series of topic quizzes.  To practice the knowledge you will also work through several interactive virtual simulations based on everyday workplace situations.  To complete your assessment you are required to complete a practical demonstration of skills before a qualified third-party observer and submit this report.

On the successful completion of the course, you will be able to download your nationally recognised statement of attainment for Food Safety Supervision as a pdf file to print and save. You will receive your NSW Food Safety Supervisor certificate as a pdf download.  You will also receive a hard copy a few days later in the mail.

Purchase the NSW Food Safety Supervisor course for the hospitality industry here.

Purchase the NSW Food Safety Supervisor course for the retail industry here.